Stream Of Consciouness Saturday

When I was s little girl I loved , what was to me exotic fruit, that we only had at Christmas.

To me the most exciting and tasty was the date. Now there was not the choice we have today we always had  the  common  date  from  the  date  palm the Delget  Nour  which  looked  like  these.

box-of-eat-me-dates-apmp6f

Image  from here

Now  these  dates  have a  long  narrow  stone  with   an O in the  middle  of it. Probably  this O is  to do  with  the  stem or  the  stork   and how the  fruit  grows on  the palm. That  is  the  logical  and  scientific answer   but  my  father  told  me  a story  when I  was  little  and I  prefer  to  believe  what he told me.

date_stones_closeup

Image  from  here

If  you look  closely  at  the  dates stones in  the the photo  you  will see  that  those which are  placed  the right  way up  you can see  the O .

Well back  to the  story  that  Dad  told  me. “When Mary  and Joseph had  to  travel  from  Nazareth  to   Bethlehem Mary had a craving  for  something sweet. She  told  Joseph  and  he  was  dismayed to have to  tell here  there  was nothing he  could give  her.  They  moved on a  little  way  and   came  to  some  date trees. Joseph  picked  some dates  for Mary  and  she  delightedly  said  Oh!  because  they  were  moist and sweet! Just  what she wanted! ” So  my  Dad told  me that  was  the  reason  there is always  an O  on  the  stone  of  the date.

Well I love  my  Dad’s story  and I told it  to  all my  children  and  if  I  ever  get  the chance  I  shall  tell  my  grandson  too!

joseph-mary-bethlehemmangerdonkey

Image  from here

This is  part LindaGHill‘s Stream of Consciousness Saturday.This  week  Linda’s prompt  was  :Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “date.” Use it any way you’d like. Have fun!

Rules  and Pingback  here

socsbadge2016-17.png

 

 

 

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geetha B
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 13:23:30

    What a sweet story. I love Deglet Nour, it comes from one of my countries, Tunisia.

    Reply

  2. Paul
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 13:29:21

    Wonderful story Willow.

    Reply

  3. Bee Halton
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 14:15:57

    What a beautiful story! Thanks for sharing🙂

    Reply

  4. jacquelineobyikocha
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 14:32:12

    How delightful. I eat lot’s of dates over here and love them🙂

    Reply

  5. summertime75
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 14:32:46

    I have to admit that the dates you describe are a favourite of mine especially at Christmas but they have since been replaced with a very nice date from Iran, very soft and last ages. I try to get them from our local market then keep them in the fridge next to the cheese ready to be taken http://www.exportersindia.com/arya-world-trust-co/mazafati-dates-shahani-dates-iran–islamic-republic-of–582056.htm

    I used to eat them at Iftar, after the Ramadan fast and bought a huge box back from Mecca one year

    Reply

  6. Judy Martin
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 14:32:55

    I remember having those dates as well Willow. I love that story that your dad told you about the o.🙂

    Reply

  7. joey
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 14:49:00

    Cute story, definitely worth passing down🙂
    I love dates too.

    Reply

  8. Laura
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 15:12:22

    One of the fruits (dates are fruits, right?) I haven’t tried. Now I’m inspired!

    Reply

  9. andy1076
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 17:17:55

    I haven’t had these in a very long time, Looks yummers🙂

    Reply

  10. Deb
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 02:36:19

    Oh what a wonderful memory of your Dad and I too love his story!! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Paul
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 07:05:04

    As an aside Willow, I did guest post over at Mark Bialczak’s https://markbialczak.com/2016/08/21/harry/ If you have time to drop by, I would be honored. Thank You

    Reply

  12. Hugh's Views and News
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 07:18:58

    I remember these date delights from my Childhood, Willow. Certainly being back good memories. There was always a box of them at Christmas; never at any other time of the year. A bit like the tangerine. Only ever saw them at Christmas and always found one at the bottom of my Christmas stocking along with a few nuts! How things have changed.

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Aug 21, 2016 @ 09:42:23

      Oh, yes things have changed , there were Christmas treats, and Easter treats but now it is just the every day. Sad really there is nothing magical , no once a year treat for the youngsters these days!!

      Reply

  13. jan
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 18:50:25

    We used to have dates stuffed with cream cheese and walnut at Christmas. That’s a lovely story – thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Our French Oasis

Our family, our lifestyle, our tales from France

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Francis & Anna

The Couple's Journey & Their Stories Of Faith

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Adrian's Imagination

Photography, Photograpic art, Painting, Artistic expressions

Nick Verron

"I'd rather LIVE a hard life, than have an easy and meaningless existence."

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Hugh's Views & News

A Man with Dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

wafflemethis

music love and poetry

K Y R O S M A G I C A

A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

Vrushali

Art, books, writing and everything in between!

ONCE UPON A HOT FLASH

A Positive attitude with an abundance of gratitude and a laugh at menopause

a cooking pot and twistedtales

Thoughts and Tales Etc..A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Renaissance

Story of my life...

Letters from Athens

A blog about life and times in Greece

The Beauty of Words

Mastering social media, writing, and editing

JT Twissel

Just Jan, that's all

Read Between The Lyme

#LivingwithLyme

Lori A. E. Barney's Blog

A Portfolio of pieces.

lynz real cooking

lynz real life

Just Fooling Around With Bee or The Bee Writes...

about poetry, life, the universe and everything

lexa

crazy-beautiful-things

ElRincónInhóspito

El mundo, las palabras y yo

Julie's Blog

Welcome to my blog! Sit back, relax and enjoy...

MamaMadHatter Musings

THouGhts, DreAMs, & ReaLiTies of MoTherHOod, MarRiage, & DoMestic MadNess

