The Mirror Lies.


This is a reworked old post of mine. It was brought to my mind by Victo Delore’s post Proximity.

The Mirror Lies
Look in the mirror what do you see
 I see a skeleton pleading with me.

You do not see that, you see rivers of fat .

If you let this go on you’ll be dead and that’s that

How did this happen how did this come to pass.

Why do you feel no one loves you, if you would only ask.

Was it a neurotic mother who showed the way

Counting calories and eating less day after day.

She treated you as she did herself it is no wonder now

That you have developed this curse.

Was it the adverts we see day after day

That you see while you are at play.

What drives a child younger than ten

To vow to herself she will not eat again. 

Did the children at school taunt you and say

“little miss piggy just go away ”

They did not mean to hurt they did not know

That those words would cripple you so.

I say they the were innocent but that might not be true

For children can be unkind and don’t care about the damage they do.

          ……………………….

Image from here

It changed the image the mirror shows you

You watch as the fat piled on , but only in your eyes was it true.

Now it is nearly too late

The pleads and entreaties for you to put on some weight.

Just simply fall on deaf ears

And as you slip away  your gums bleed, full filling our worst fears

Was it your boss who shattered your confidence by making a careless remark 

About eating too many cakes that caused you to a  binge and vomit course to embark.

Sadly it is all or nothing for you,

Sadly my love it will be the death of you too.

It may seem like a mountain to climb

But please take my  hand and except my love, your running out of time.

Image from here

Mothers and fathers what ever you do

Make sure your children know you love them and make time to spend with them too.

Teachers  and government  make sure that healthy diets are taught

And evil nasty bullies are dealt with as soon as they are caught.

We need our children and our young people too

We must guide them and love them as they need to see we are true.

We will never stop the adverts  on TV, posters and press

But we can talk to our children and tell them these models are just there to impress.

The rich cats are just out to make money


They don’t give a damn about anyone honey.!


So I reach out my hand and offer some hope

Every one is beautiful in their own just remember you are loved and we can help you to cope.

Beauty is skin deep what is inside is what is key

The soul and heart dictate what you should be.

You cannot chase the perfect body all of your life

You will have to give up so much as you will not have time to live life.




35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ritu
    Aug 11, 2017 @ 20:07:06

    Such a poignant post sis xxx

    Reply

  2. Betty Hayes Albright
    Aug 11, 2017 @ 20:54:40

    So tragic the message that the media sends to young women and girls. And “toys” like Barbie dolls that show impossible bodies. Your caring poem will hopefully reach someone today….

    Reply

  3. Victo Dolore
    Aug 11, 2017 @ 22:02:49

    Well and powerfully said. Thank you for the shout out.

    Reply

  4. alantrinh
    Aug 11, 2017 @ 23:25:31

    Cool

    Reply

  5. Reena Saxena
    Aug 12, 2017 @ 02:50:06

    The song is beautiful!

    Reply

  6. humphries346
    Aug 12, 2017 @ 10:19:07

    Hi ,
    Brilliant song I totally relate to what you say I have an Anorexic daughter Hazel who has now had to go back into Hospital . Her BMI is now 15 and she has extreme Anorexia Nervosa. The Anorexia is driven and governed by her Personality Disorder as well as Her Autism Body Imaging Several times a day , trying on different clothes, continually counting calories has made the situation very difficult between us. Hospital is the best place for her at the moment where she can be monitored and assessed and let professionals look after her. She is now being assessed for an eating Disorder Unit where she can be helped. Thanks again for your post Very pertinent to my daughter’s problems.
    Laurence x

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Aug 12, 2017 @ 15:18:49

      Hi Laurence I am so sorry to hear about your daughter, I only wish I could do more than just draw attention to the problem. I get so angry when I see how the media uses only the thinnest and prettiest of people boys and girls (men and boys suffer from both types of Anorexia too) the wrong message is continually being put out there. I do know how driven Anorexia can be, I have hovered on the edge for years. Finally I am fine, I think . I was not as ill as Hazel, I never needed hospitalisation and I kept it hidden , as I say on the brink.
      I only hope that society will wake up to this fact before we all go to hell in a hand cart.
      I do Hazel can improve and get her place in the unit , I pray she will recover and I send love to you and all your family. 💜💜

      Reply

      • humphries346
        Aug 13, 2017 @ 08:18:04

        Thank you for your very thoughtful comments Hazel’s Anorexia worsened when 3 people told Hazel she was Fat , My Ex Wife , a dietician and a Ward Manager at a Mental health Hospital Because Hazel has autism and her understanding is limited she believes and follows through any suggestions and id directly influenced by what people say. It is a complete tragedy for her but we must do everything to try and help her now that she is in Hospital. thanks again . Laurence xxx

      • willowdot21
        Aug 13, 2017 @ 09:10:52

        I really am sorry to hear this. Why are people, especially professionals so tactless. I have a nephew with autism and I know he takes everything literally.! Wishing you all luck. 💜💜

  7. janowrite
    Aug 12, 2017 @ 19:43:46

    This is so powerful and quite moving…thanks for posting!

    Reply

  8. Marje @ Kyrosmagica
    Aug 13, 2017 @ 06:24:36

    I read Victo’s post too. This is very moving Willow and worrying. We need to teach healthy eating, moderation and kindness. A good point to emphasise well done Willow. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Judy E Martin
    Aug 13, 2017 @ 13:46:28

    It is such a huge problem and seems to be getting worse. The media don’t seem to help by constantly criticising those that are not the ‘ideal shape.’ and promototing models and celebrities that are stick thin.Your poem highlighted this problem so well. xxxx

    Reply

  10. JT Twissel
    Aug 13, 2017 @ 17:45:52

    How true that is. Which is why I never wear my glasses when I look in the mirror. Nicely done, Willow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Us

Follow Us

Follow Us

Follow Us

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

My Dad Is A Goldfish

Caring for a demented dad

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

Life is too short to drink bad wine

La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

beyondtheflow

A Survivor's Philosophy of Life

Mick E Talbot Poems

haiku tanka senryu hiabun, all manner of poetry.

Deb's World

The World According to Debbie

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

✨Colleen Chesebro✨The Faery Whisperer ✨

YA Fantasy Novelist, Poet, & Visual Word Artist

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

Morpethroad

Random meaningful words on a page

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

sameernayan

Arts, Video & Photography

KTSW 89.9

The Other Side of Radio

SaylingAway

Shorts, Novels, and Other Things

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

Russ Towne's A Grateful Man

To remind you about the goodness and greatness within yourself and others.

A Dog's Life? (Stories of me and him)

Life with Ray - 75lbs of Attitude in a Fur Coat!

Lorraine's frilly freudian slip

life in the bipolarsphere

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

RETURN OF THE INTERNET NOBODY

Still on the Internet, Still a Nobody

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

