Thursday Photo Prompt: #writephoto Flight.

This is my entry for Sue Vincent of Daily Echo #writephoto. 


Rules and Pingback Here

This photo brings it all back to me now. As a child I lived on a council estate. The houses were all set out in crescents,each crescent had a green in its centre. The crescents were separated by a line of four houses then a cul du sac of houses, and alleyways to back of our crescent’s houses and oposite the next crescents houses, then another four houses then the next crescent repeated four times.
The houses on the other side of the road were private and backed on to a park. Why am I telling you this.

Well many an evening I would stand in our small  back garden and the photo is the view I had.  The roof tops, the chimneys with the ariels attached, the sunset/sunrise and the pigeons, especially the pigeons.

The man who lived next door kept racing pigeons, to me as a child hundreds of them. I doubt there were hundreds he had two “pigeon lofts” one the length of his back garden and one the width. 

The earliest memories I have are of lying in my pram listening to the cooing of the pigeons. Glimpsing the sky through the sun canopy of my pram.

One of my lasting memories is standing in the backgarden watching the sun setting, hearing the man nextdoor calling in his birds after a race, hearing the joy in his voice as the first of his birds returned, I could feel the excitement as their shilouettes appeared over the roofs.

I have so many memories of the house I grew up in, got married from, took my children back to, to see their grandparents. The man next door his wife and her deaf sister were a large part of my life then.

We were a big family and our Mum and Dad never turned anyone away. There were always people staying over, waifs, strays, distant family, friends and almost strangers. That house with that view was in our lives for sixty years. Even after our parents died my eldest brother bought it and lived there for many years with his family. He sold it on about six years ago and a whole chapter of family life came to an end.

So today’s prompt was very special to me. So thank you Sue for the prompt. I hope that I have not bored anyone to sleep.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ritu
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 20:35:57

    What a lovely reminisce sis!!!

    Reply

  2. Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 20:49:09

    Thank you for sharing your story, Willow. Your parents must have been full of love for you and people in general. Lovely to hear.

    Reply

  3. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 21:05:38

    Enjoyed this, Willow. What lovely childhood memories you have! You brought your past back to life.

    Reply

  4. Sue Vincent
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 21:44:09

    What lovely memories, Willow. I am so glad the picture called them up for you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. frankhubeny
    Jun 29, 2017 @ 23:51:56

    Nice remembrance of your childhood.

    Reply

  6. trentpmcd
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 00:08:55

    Very nice post – memories as opposed to fiction.

    Reply

  7. Marje @ Kyrosmagica
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 07:27:22

    Ah, this is so lovely. It’s sad that that sense of community doesn’t seem to exist any more. At least it doesn’t where I’m living, hardly see my neighbours.

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Jun 30, 2017 @ 07:58:16

      Me either, I see the neighbours and apart from the immediate ones that’s it I see them! I am lucky though the ones I do know are very nice. Then I wonder how much there is a cherry glow on what we remember…. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’œπŸ’—

      Reply

  8. Prajakta
    Jun 30, 2017 @ 07:37:15

    Memories have a way to come up πŸ™‚ Beautiful take on the prompt!

    Reply

  9. Judy E Martin
    Jul 01, 2017 @ 16:11:26

    Lovely memories Willow and happy times.
    Thanks for sharing them with us xxx

    Reply

  10. Trackback: #writephoto Flight. by Willow | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo
  11. Hugh's Views and News
    Jul 02, 2017 @ 10:09:01

    Not at all, Willow. I really enjoyed reading your memories. They even rekindled memories of my childhood and where we lived. My Father still lives in the same house I grew up in. When I go and visit him, the house seems so small compared to when I was a child. However, it still contains some wonderful memories.

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Jul 02, 2017 @ 11:01:54

      So glad you enjoyed it Hugh and even better it brought back memories for you. It is a strange thing but our childhood home so often feels small when we revisit it. Be well and happy πŸ’œ

      Reply

  12. kalpana solsi
    Jul 04, 2017 @ 08:53:58

    Attachment to the house in which one has grown up with fond memories is natural. It is sad that the house had to be sold out. but then all goods things in life have to come to an end. your memories were very interesting.
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/07/flight-of-questions.html

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Jul 04, 2017 @ 10:13:24

      Thank you I am glad you enjoyed my ramblings. It is sad when part of your life comes to an end but there is always another chapter that will open. πŸ˜‰πŸ’—

      Reply

  13. Trackback: Photo prompt round up – Flight #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a Reply

Life is too short to drink bad wine

La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

beyondtheflow

A Survivor's Philosophy of Life

Mick E Talbot Poems

haiku tanka senryu hiabun poetry

Deb's World

The world according to Debbie

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Colleen Chesebro Fairy Whisperer

YA Fantasy Author, Poet, & Visual Word Artist

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

Morpethroad

Random meaningful words on a page

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

sameernayan135

SAMEER NAYAN (ARTIST)

KTSW 89.9

The Other Side of Radio

SaylingAway

Shorts, Novels, and Other Things

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

A Grateful Man

To remind you about the goodness and greatness within yourself and others.

A Dog's Life? (Stories of me and him)

Life with Ray - 75lbs of Attitude in a Fur Coat!

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Lorraine's frilly freudian slip

life in the bipolarsphere

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Nick Verron

"I'd rather LIVE a hard life, than have an easy and meaningless existence."

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

