Musicalmarch Day 4 Imogen Heap

Our Blog Sis Ritu at  But  I smile anyway has come up with another challenge for us this month Musicalmarch.

Ritu  said  : “Nothing too serious or tedious.Just a chance to share some songs! If you fancy posting a song for any reason this March, tag it #musicalmarch🎵 and link back to one of my posts so I can listen to your special songs too!

Link to Ritu’s Post
musicalmarch1

Today is  day 4 of  Musicalmarch and  I never  made a  secret  of  the  fact  that  I  love  Imogen  Heap! When I  think  back  to  the  time  I  was in  hospital  after  breaking  my  back  ( the  second  time ) and  all I  can  say is  Immie saved  my  life. Her  music  and  talking  books  : Alex  Cross  books  written  by James Patterson, were  the  two  things  that  kept  me  sane. I  could only  lay  flat, I  could  not  move, I  was in  a  body  brace.

Also  when I  was learning  to  walk again  Immie’s  music  was  always  there  for  me. I  did  email Imogen  and  tell her  and  thank  her  and  she  wrote  me  back  a  beautiful and  kind  email back.

I have  put in a  few  excerpts from  when I  wrote  about   some  experiences  and  feeling  I  had  whilst in  hospital  with tracks  I  listen  too a  lot  at  that  time. The  last  track Life Line  was  written  later   but it  fits  the  way  the  male  nurse  I  talk about  helped me  and  the others on one of  the ward I was on.

8.30am ” Hello willow time to wash  dress you and change your bed”. I just smile I hate this , I understand it has to be done  and they do it well  but they talk over me about  their lives, have they have mistaken me for one of the old ladies in here  that cannot or will not comunicate . Shall I interupt their chatter or shall I…… there you go all clean and comfy now.  They walk away and I am alone again  time for Imogen I think !

12midday dinner arrives, Oh! I am in luck today  the young girl  is  here to help me. She is African  and so pretty she has a pretty nature too. She smiles and talks to me as she feeds  me , she listens to me , she really  does. I ask  her is she going to be a nurse , no  she  is going to be a pharmacist , shame she would  be a great nurse.

1pm  the cleaner is here  she is nice always smiling  but  she does not speak a word of English. She has  the most lovely eyes.

 

I ring for a bedpan  the nurse says ” surely  you have a catheter”   “yes” I said ” I do not need to pee”. It is  almost impossible  to use a bed pan when you are  laying  flat. This nurse  leaves  me on the bedpan  for over 20mins  then longer after I have rung  for her to help me.  I ask her  have I been , no she says walking away. ………. Why can’t I tell if I have been, why can’t I go, why can’t I feel . My stomach  really hurts, so does  my back hurt so much, I start to cry  then  the cloak of sleep surrounds  me again.

“Hello” , a new  voice, foreign , gentle sing song , what  nice eyes. “Are  you awake willow”   I am tempted  to not answer  but politeness gets the best of  me. “I  am here to help  you, would  you mind if I  gave  you a bed bath” I hesitate  because it does not seem right, a young  man asking me if I would  like a bed bath.  However I have not  had a good wash  let alone a bed bath since I was admitted, he is also  offering to change  my  pyjamas  and  the bed.  So far I have had a lick and  a promise and I am longing to feel fresh again.

What a change  from the usual  begrudging  treatment I had received so far. I was bathed put in clean pyjamas and in a freshly  changed bed I was exhausted  but comfortable. The young  nurse  told  me  he had  been at  the hospital  for about a year. His  kindness and respect made  me feel safe and at no time threatened.

Over  the next  week I learnt  a lot  about him,  he had  been in the French Foreign Legion, a Gendarme and now a Nurse. He used  to come into our ward  and chat  when he had  the time  and sometimes  if he was not too busy  he would  have a cup of  tea  with us.  More  than once when I was feeling really  low  he would make  me a bird or a flower  with paper. He was an extremely talented  and kind  young  man who lived life to the full and who was not afraid to put himself out to help others. He  made my life bearable I missed him when I was moved to yet another ward!

So where ever  you are, dear young french  male nurse, I want to let you know  you helpped  me  through a terrifying lonely time. Your large  and  small acts of kindness helped me through. So thank  you nurse  you made a difference.

 

SaylingAway

Shorts, Novels, and Other Things

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

A Grateful Man

To remind you about the goodness and greatness within yourself and others.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

A Dog's Life? (Stories of me and him)

Life with Ray - 75lbs of Attitude in a Fur Coat!

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Lorraine's frilly freudian slip

life in the bipolarsphere

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Nick Verron

"I'd rather LIVE a hard life, than have an easy and meaningless existence."

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

wafflemethis

music love and poetry

K Y R O S M A G I C A

A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

Vrushali

Art, books, writing and everything in between!

ONCE UPON A HOT FLASH

A Positive attitude with an abundance of gratitude and a laugh at menopause

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Renaissance

Story of my life...

Letters from Athens

A blog about life and times in Greece

The Beauty of Words

Mastering social media, writing, and editing

JT Twissel

Just Jan, that's all