Thursday Doors: Half English Half Irish.

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North Americaneastern time), by using the blue link-up button on the bottom of Norm2.0 post which is here.

This is my contribution this week which like me half English and half Irish.

Rules and Pingback here

Yes I am not kidding I am English  born and bred but my Father being Irish has instilled a great deal of the Celt in me.

For this week’s offering I have two Doors from local to where I live and two doors from Dublin.

The top photo is part of long row of terraced cottages situated at a place called Holyport.They are grade two listed buildings. They all have beautiful gardens and green front doors. The photo was taken in the summer.

The second photo of is an old style English pub the type you can still find all over the place. Luckily not taken over by a large chain who want all their pubs to be clones of each other!

In 2008 my husband took me to Dublin to to visit my Dad’s birthplace. We had had looked out my Dad’s birth certificate and so knew the address. We went to find it on the second day of our visit, we found the road. Gloucester Street South. Sadly the house had been knocked down, even more sadly very recently. There was a fireplace in the wall… I wandered was it the fireplace  that had been in my grandparent’s room.

Yes I did say room in those days, around  1905, there were about 10 rooms let in a house this size, at least 10 people to each family so at least 100 people per house. Imagine that! These are my photos but I did look on Google earth today and the area around has been developed but not that particular site. The only difference today is the fire place is gone!

The brightly coloured building in the  second  photo  is the Pub  The  Oliver St John Gogarty, named after  the author, poet,surgeon,politician and athlete who also inspired the  James Joyce character Buck Mulligan in his book Ulysses. The pub is situated in the cultural Temple Bar area.Great Music!

That is  my  post  for  this  week!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K.L. Allendoerfer
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 16:38:03

    Just FYI, your link on the Thursday Doors Frog linky page isn’t working when you just click on it. It directs you to this: http://half%20%20english%20%20and%20half%20irish/
    I had to copy the real link and paste it into my browser to get here.

    The labels on the link page are confusing: they are underneath the boxes rather than above, and too close to the wrong box. You might want to go back and fix your link so you get more visits!

    Reply

  2. Opinionated Man
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 17:49:55

    Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    Those are great photos Willow! And I’d definitely visit the pub! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here. Please visit their blog.

    Reply

  3. jan
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 18:11:14

    The bottom pub looks like a ton of fun!

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 18:13:22

    Wonderful doors and background information, Willow. Great contenders. 😀 ❤

    Reply

  5. Norm 2.0
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 22:48:47

    Yes that pub sure looks like a fun place – lovely post 🙂

    Reply

  6. Judy E Martin
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 14:31:17

    The Irish pub looks great fun, Willow. 🙂

    Reply

  7. sustainabilitea
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 19:53:00

    I choose the two pubs. Cheers! 🙂

    janet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Us

Follow Us

Follow Us

Follow Us

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

My Dad Is A Goldfish

Caring for a demented dad

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

Life is too short to drink bad wine

La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

beyondtheflow

A Survivor's Philosophy of Life

Mick E Talbot Poems

haiku tanka senryu hiabun, all manner of poetry.

Deb's World

The world according to Debbie

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

✨The Fairy Whisperer ✨Colleen Chesebro✨

YA Fantasy Novelist, Poet, & Visual Word Artist

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

Morpethroad

Random meaningful words on a page

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

sameernayan

Arts, Video & Photography

KTSW 89.9

The Other Side of Radio

SaylingAway

Shorts, Novels, and Other Things

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

A Grateful Man

To remind you about the goodness and greatness within yourself and others.

A Dog's Life? (Stories of me and him)

Life with Ray - 75lbs of Attitude in a Fur Coat!

Lorraine's frilly freudian slip

life in the bipolarsphere

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

RETURN OF THE INTERNET NOBODY

Still on the Internet, Still a Nobody

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

