Christmas Lies Bleeding

 

It  is gathering , it is growing  as it does  this time of year.

It is clawing my guts  out, as it shuffles  near.

It is spitting in  my face  and  screaming in my ear.

I am being wrenched  apart happy Christmas  my dear

 

Nobody ever does anything for  you..

Do you really believe that  crap is  really  true

Na  it couldn’t  be anything  you do…….. could it?

 

It always  happens at Christmas I have  to ask you why .

Why  take it up and screw it up, watch it bleed gasp  for air  and die!

Go on, make your selfish demands on me ,

Make  me  make the choices I never want ..never  set me fucking free.

 

Nobody ever does anything for  you..

Do you really believe that  crap is  really  true

Na  it couldn’t  be anything  you do…….. could it?

 

Bleed me  cut  me throw me in the gutter .

Make  me choose what I do not want, what the fuck  does it matter.

No doubt  you will relent  ungraciously  then be

The biggest  martyr you can, and blame your grief on me.

 

Nobody ever does anything for  you..

Do you really believe that  crap is  really  true

Na  it couldn’t  be anything  you do…….. could it?

 

Yes I bloody hate Christmas.  All it brings  is grief, arguments  and hurt.

Under  the pretence  of rejoicing many a  poor soul is being dragged  through  the dirt!

Adverts on the TV  show perfect families  enjoying the festive fayre.

It makes me want to choke  I don’t believe it, and I  think it so unfair

To ram  these lies of “happy happy times” right  down our throats .

It is just another bloody day

Everything that’s wrong still there  beneath  the  sugar  coat.

They’ll still be  there  tomorrow and  not  magically  go away

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A rework  of  a poem  I  wrote  for  NABLOPOMO back in  NOV 2013

Please  excuse  the language   and  remember  it is  a poem.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rumpydog
    Nov 29, 2016 @ 21:05:33

    Hits close to home. I used to feel that way but I have made my peace with the holiday.

    Reply

  2. Ritu
    Nov 29, 2016 @ 21:18:53

    Oh Willow…. I only hope you can stay positive. .. Christmas or otherwise xxxx

    Reply

  3. jan
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 00:50:46

    Listening to happy happy Christmas songs when you’re feeling blue is like being stabbed in the heart. Pre Christ – this was the season of lights when the only thing humans shared was warmth and hope the end of winter would come. I wish we could go back to those times – I bet Jesus Christ does to.

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Nov 30, 2016 @ 07:05:24

      Yes I totally agree with you, the homeless, the abused, the poor,the depressed and the ill are not helped by what Christmas has become. I bet Jesus does wish we could go back to more innocent ways… sadly it is too late for that.

      Reply

  4. Lynz Real Cooking
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 12:05:03

    hugs dear

    Reply

  5. Judy E Martin
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 19:46:55

    Christmas can be a miserable time for some, made worse by the fact that there are so many expectations on us to have a good time. A very powerful poem Willow xx

    Reply

  6. Genie
    Dec 01, 2016 @ 22:51:19

    Jesus wasn’t even born on December 25. If he actually existed as a real person, he may be just a metaphor/alagory, many cultures have a virgin birth myth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Our French Oasis

Our family, our lifestyle, our tales from France

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Francis & Anna

The Couple's Journey & Their Stories Of Faith

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Adrian's Imagination

Photography, Photograpic art, Painting, Artistic expressions

Nick Verron

"I'd rather LIVE a hard life, than have an easy and meaningless existence."

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Hugh's Views & News

A Man with Dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

wafflemethis

music love and poetry

K Y R O S M A G I C A

A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

Vrushali

Art, books, writing and everything in between!

ONCE UPON A HOT FLASH

A Positive attitude with an abundance of gratitude and a laugh at menopause

a cooking pot and twistedtales

Thoughts and Tales Etc..A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Renaissance

Story of my life...

Letters from Athens

A blog about life and times in Greece

The Beauty of Words

Mastering social media, writing, and editing

JT Twissel

Just Jan, that's all

Read Between The Lyme

#LivingwithLyme

Lori A. E. Barney's Blog

A Portfolio of pieces.

lynz real cooking

lynz real life

Just Fooling Around With Bee or The Bee Writes...

about poetry, life, the universe and everything

lexa

crazy-beautiful-things

ElRincónInhóspito

El mundo, las palabras y yo

Julie's Blog

Welcome to my blog! Sit back, relax and enjoy...

MamaMadHatter Musings

THouGhts, DreAMs, & ReaLiTies of MoTherHOod, MarRiage, & DoMestic MadNess

