The Chateau’s Lament.

Today  we  visited  the  most  beautiful  Chateau, the  grounds  were open  to  the  public  and  were  beautiful  too yet  we  were  the  only  people there.

The   family  still  live  there  though  not in the  Chateau .  The  Chateau  was  closed up  and  empty and it  was  such  a sad  sight  to  see  such  an  amazing  building,  centuries  old  and  full of  history  left  empty.

It  made  me  so  sad to  think of  the  cold  and  the  damp  eating  away  at  this  beautiful place. It  put  me in  mind  of  a  poem  I  wrote  a  couple of  years  back  about  a  derelict house . So I  have  revamped  it  a  little  to  fit  how I  felt  today.

I understand  that  the  upkeep  of  a Chateau  like  this  would  be phenomenal  but  there must  be  grants  and people  would  flock  to  see it  and pay. Anyway  just my  thoughts.

Original poem if  you are interested.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

CHATEAU’S LAMENT

unnamed (38)I was not always as you see me now, decaying  old ready to take a final bow.

I was beautiful tall and strong , a stable bet to set your life upon.

It is cold at night and the wind finds my every crack

I tremble and shudder now as the  memories of  the past flood back

I brace myself against nature’s  worst even lightening  and thunder

Each day that passes the fact I still stand here  is a wonder.
The chime of doorbells as they’d ring.I used to hear the children sing ,

Families living in me weaving their life

As I stood there for them strong in their joys and strife.

I have seen babies born and babies die,

Mothers grieving, husbands turning a blind eye.

 

Birthdays, marriages, divorces all old hat, kingly men happy in  a mistress’s care

Evil bastards who knock their women flat or  plot intrigues on the stair,

Countesses turning  a blind eye, pushed  down until they lose all hope

Weighted down with  money worries and too many children to cope.

 

The birds are now happy in my rafters

Their cooing fills my rooms instead of laughter ,

It is still a happy sound not unlike the sound

Of children playing here there  and  all around.

 

At night I imagine lovers climb through my open doors

Like  days gone by when they made love upon my carpeted floors

For them I was  their beautiful  meeting place ,

For whatever reason they may have to hide their face.

 

 

I am decaying crumbling away

I do not want to go yet I want to stay.

Try me out I could be the best deal for you

If you build me up I shall protect you true.

I could be the canvas to build your life upon.

I could be rebuilt, decorated and glazed I could dance again to people’s throng

unnamed (40)

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johnallenrichter
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 15:34:37

    So very true, dear Willow… Strenuous efforts must always be made to save these wonderful pieces of history… Some how I think that people would flock to your own charitable leadership if you were to take on such a project, – you know… approach the owners or responsible parties involved and make your pitch. They would only need to meet you and learn abut you to understand your draw and ability to motivate others, I think… And you might be in a unique position to accomplish such a thing… Something that has been a challenge in your own life could definitely be used to spark challenge in others, sweet Willow. Or perhaps something smaller – because unfortunately such neglect is epidemic…. I shouldn’t think there is any shortage of projects…. I’m so glad that you had an opportunity to witness this beautiful place….

    Reply

    • willowdot21
      Sep 18, 2015 @ 18:32:31

      Thank you John i would love nothing better but I would need governmental backing and as I am not french they would never allow it. But it would not stop me publicizing the waste of such a treasure! Thanks for your kind words!

      Reply

  2. Lynz Real Cooking
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 18:01:37

    What a wonderful post! I love the pictures and the poem!

    Reply

  3. 1EarthUnited
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 18:13:14

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Paul
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 05:22:54

    Very touching poem Willow. I agree that historic buildings should be preserved. I don’t know about the finances of France – but I know a lot of countries are cutting back on budgets and often money for such projects is the first to go. It is indeed sad.

    Reply

  5. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 16:54:11

    Beautiful presentation and you are a great photographer. My guess is that your historic restoration rules are as strict as ours. Everything has to be done the same way as when the structure was originally built and thus no improvements may be made so that the building might last longer with the proper upkeep. It’s a shame we [in the U.S. at least] put so many restrictions on restorations that it keeps many buildings and other architectural units from restoration. Terrific blog as always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

YA Fantasy Author, Poet, & Visual Word Artist

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

Morpethroad

Random meaningful words on a page

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

sameernayan135

SAMEER NAYAN (ARTIST)

KTSW 89.9

The Other Side of Radio

SaylingAway

Shorts, Novels, and Other Things

TanGental

Writing, the Universe and whatever occurs to me

A Grateful Man

To remind you about the goodness and greatness within yourself and others.

A Dog's Life? (Stories of me and him)

Life with Ray - 75lbs of Attitude in a Fur Coat!

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Lorraine's frilly freudian slip

life in the bipolarsphere

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

willowdot21

An insight to a heart mind and soul.

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

trainofthought

from stop to stop, a journey in thought

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

deletedangel

Lost Poetry

Everything I Never Told You

Lucidly in shadows. Poetry from a hand that writes misty.

Nick Verron

"I'd rather LIVE a hard life, than have an easy and meaningless existence."

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

wafflemethis

music love and poetry

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

ONCE UPON A HOT FLASH

A Positive attitude with an abundance of gratitude and a laugh at menopause

